event
Global Health Centre
Tuesday
22
November
GHC-digital-health-rights

Digital justice: How social media is transforming young people's health and rights

, -

Digital Rights and Health Project - Online event

8:00 - 9:30 New York / 14:00 - 15:30 CET Geneva / 15:00 - 16:30 Nairobi / 19:00 - 20:30 Hanoi

Add to Calendar
Event connection

DESCRIPTION

For many young people, the rise of mobile phone technology is empowering: social media grants anonymous access to sexual and reproductive health information and online community. On spaces such as Facebook, YouTube and more, innovative social media health champions are attracting thousands of young people who seek reliable information and safe space for discussion on taboo topics. But not everyone has access to online spaces, and at national and global levels, governments struggle to keep pace with the growth of new technologies and online platforms. The digital transformation in health brings both huge benefits and risks to privacy, well-being, misinformation and security. Can social media be harnessed to promote the right to health?

 

In this webinar, the Digital Health and Rights Project (including the Global Health Centre at the Graduate Institute Geneva, BRAC University, GNP+, KELIN, STOPAIDS, and Universidad de los Andes) will share findings from a transnational participatory action research study into young adults' experiences with digital health in Bangladesh, Colombia, Ghana, Kenya, and Vietnam. We will chat with social media innovators, scholars, and advocates about policy recommendations and good practices that challenge structural inequalities and meet the needs of young people in their diversity, in a discussion facilitated by an expert at the World Health Organization.

 

Speakers

Opening remarks: Dr. Sara (Meg) Davis | Project Director and Senior Researcher, Global Health Centre, Geneva Graduate Institute

Moderators and Speakers:

Stephen Agbenyo | Executive Director, Savana Signatures

Tabitha Ha | Advocacy Manager, STOPAIDS

Terry Gachie | Country Coordinator, Love Matters Kenya

Catalina Gonzalez-Uribe | Professor, Universidad de los Andes

Nomtika Mjwana | Project Manager, The Global Network of People Living with HIV (GNP+)

Trang Pham | Project Manager, The VietNam Network of People Living with HIV (VNP+)

Nguyen Anh Phong | Social Media Health Champion, Chuyện của Phong 

Tigest Tamrat | Technical Officer, SRHR, World Health Organization (WHO)

 

Access speakers' biographies

 

This project has been supported by Fondation Botnar.

 

ORGANISERS

Global Health Centre, Digital Health and Rights Project (DHRP)Global Network of People Living with HIV (GNP+), KELIN, Privacy InternationalRestless Development and STOPAIDS.

GHC_DHRP_webinar_partners_logos