Film Screening
Taipeilove* documentary


Gender Centre, Queer International Student Assembly (QISA), Student Initiative on Asia (SIA)
, -

Auditorium A2 | Maison de la paix, Geneva

Add to Calendar

In observance of Human Rights Day on December 10, the Gender Centre, the Queer International Student Assembly (QISA) and the Student Initiative on Asia (SIA) together are screening the documentary TAIPEILOVE*– a film on the perception of homosexuality in Taiwanese society and the fight for same-sex marriage.

TAIPEILOVE* is the first documentary worldwide to thoroughly cover the topic of homosexuality and its public perception in an Asian country. Over the course of eight months, the team followed the three main protagonists Sarah, Kevin and David, and conducted interviews with them and their family members. Framed by interviews with rights activists and a lawmaker, the film ponders the questions: How free, safe and happy can LGBTIQ+ persons live in Taiwanese society? How do their families and friends react? What role do religion, societal and cultural expectations play?

In May 2019, Taiwan became the first jurisdiction in Asia to legalise same-sex marriage. In doing so, it has overtaken Switzerland, and several more European countries, in advancing the human right of consenting people to marry the person they love.

In an interactive discussion following the screening with the documentary's director, Lucie Liu, and Lena Holzer, PhD candidate in International Law at the Graduate Institute and PhD Affiliate to the Gender Centre, a focus will be laid on how struggles for marriage equality play into the broader fight for the respect of LGBTIQ+ rights in a world where same-sex sexual activity is criminalised in 72 countries and transgender identity expression is illegal in 15.

About the director

Lucie Liu is a German-Chinese filmmaker. TAIPEILOVE* is her debut documentary. She lives, studies and works in Berlin. The film has been produced independently and realised by a professional international team with members from France, Taiwan, USA, Germany, the Philippines and Singapore.

An apéro will be served after the conclusion of the discussion.